Skip to main content
Solar Street Light Sizing Guide: How to Size the Panel, Battery and Wattage for Any Location in India 2026
⚡ Solar Energy & Systems

Solar Street Light Sizing Guide: How to Size the Panel, Battery and Wattage for Any Location in India 2026

Table of Contents

    Buying the wrong panel or battery for a solar street light is not immediately obvious: the light works fine in March when the sun shines 6 hours a day, then goes dark at 10pm every night from July to September when the monsoon clouds reduce charging to 2 hours. Correct sizing prevents this. The calculation is straightforward: LED wattage, operating hours, your location's peak sun hours, and the number of backup days you need go into two simple formulas that tell you exactly how many Wp of panel and how many Ah of battery your system requires. This guide walks through every step with worked examples for three Indian locations.

    Step 1: Choose Your LED Wattage

    Solar street light sizing always starts with the LED load. The panel and battery are sized to power the LED: if you get the LED wattage wrong, no amount of correct battery sizing will deliver the right lux at road level.

    LED wattage for solar street lights is selected using the same IS 1944 road category lux requirements as grid LED lights. For a full walkthrough of the IS 1944 formula, see the LED street light wattage calculator guide. The quick reference below covers the most common Indian solar street light applications.

    LED Wattage Selection for Common Solar Street Light Applications India 2026
    Application Road Width IS 1944 Category Target Lux Pole Height LED Wattage
    Village lane, rural path 4m to 5m P5 (C) 3 to 5 lux 4m 9W to 12W
    Gram panchayat village road 5m to 6m P5 (C) 5 lux 4m to 5m 12W to 18W
    Housing society internal road 5m to 7m P4 (B2) 7 to 10 lux 5m 18W to 24W
    Secondary municipal road 7m to 9m P3 (B1) 10 to 15 lux 6m to 7m 30W to 50W
    Main municipal road / state highway 9m to 12m P2 (A2) 15 to 20 lux 7m to 9m 50W to 80W
    Industrial estate road 8m to 10m P2 to P3 12 to 17 lux 6m to 8m 40W to 60W

    For MNRE-funded government solar street light projects, the standard specification is a 12W LED on a 5m pole for village roads. Private and commercial solar street light projects have no MNRE wattage restriction and can specify the LED wattage required by IS 1944 for the actual road category.

    Important: claimed wattage vs actual LED wattage. In the Indian solar street light market, the wattage printed on the product often refers to the rated panel wattage, not the LED operating wattage. A product described as a 40W solar street light may have a 40Wp panel but only a 12W LED operating load. Always ask the supplier for the LED operating wattage (in watts, at rated load from the battery) separately from the panel wattage, before starting your sizing calculation.

    Step 2: Define Operating Hours and Dimming Profile

    The number of operating hours per night is the second input in both the panel and battery sizing formulas. It has a large effect: a 12W LED running 12 hours per night needs 60% more battery capacity than the same LED running 7.5 hours per night.

    Most quality solar street lights implement a dimming profile to extend battery life: full brightness for the first 4 to 6 hours after dusk (when pedestrian and traffic activity is highest), then dimmed to 50% for the remainder of the night, then full brightness again for 1 to 2 hours before dawn. The MNRE specification (confirmed from Haryana NREDA 2026 rate contract) requires first 4 hours full light at minimum 24 lux, then remaining hours at 50% with minimum 12 lux maintained.

    Common Solar Street Light Dimming Profiles and Effective Operating Hours
    Profile Actual Hours Effective Full-Load Hours Battery Saving vs No Dimming
    No dimming (full brightness all night) 12 hours 12 hours Baseline (highest battery requirement)
    MNRE profile: 4 hrs full + 8 hrs at 50% 12 hours 4 + (8 x 0.5) = 8 effective hours 33% battery saving
    Standard municipal: 6 hrs full + 6 hrs at 50% 12 hours 6 + (6 x 0.5) = 9 effective hours 25% battery saving
    Conservative: 5 hrs full + 4 hrs at 30% 9 hours total 5 + (4 x 0.3) = 6.2 effective hours 48% battery saving vs 12-hour full

    For sizing calculations, use effective full-load hours rather than total operating hours in the battery formula. Use total operating hours (not effective) in the panel formula, since the panel charges regardless of what the LED is doing at night. Most Indian solar street light specifications use 12 hours total operating time and 8 to 9 effective full-load hours for sizing.

    Step 3: Find Peak Sun Hours for Your Location

    Peak Sun Hours (PSH) is the number of hours per day at which solar irradiance equals 1,000 W/m² (Standard Test Condition, STC). It is the single most important location variable in solar sizing. A solar panel rated at 100Wp generates 100Wh per peak sun hour. In a location with 5.5 PSH/day, a 100Wp panel generates 550Wh per day before system losses.

    India is one of the world's best locations for solar energy, with PSH ranging from 3.5 (monsoon Kerala) to 6.5 (Rajasthan) depending on location and season. Use the annual average PSH for planning general installations, and the monsoon worst-case PSH for sizing projects in high-rainfall zones.

    Peak Sun Hours by Indian State/Region for Solar Street Light Sizing
    Region States Annual Average PSH Monsoon Season PSH (Jun-Sep) Use in Battery Sizing
    High solar (arid zone) Rajasthan, Gujarat, parts of Maharashtra (Vidarbha) 5.5 to 6.5 4.0 to 5.0 Use 5.0 for conservative sizing
    Moderate solar (Deccan plateau) Maharashtra, Karnataka, Telangana, AP, Madhya Pradesh 5.0 to 5.5 3.5 to 4.5 Use 4.5 for conservative sizing
    Moderate solar (north India) Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Haryana, Punjab, Delhi 4.5 to 5.0 3.0 to 4.0 Use 4.0 for conservative sizing
    Lower solar (coastal/northeast) Kerala, coastal Karnataka, Goa, West Bengal, Northeast 3.5 to 4.5 2.0 to 3.0 (worst case) Use 3.0 for monsoon season sizing
    Sizing for monsoon vs annual average: For non-critical rural roads, sizing for the annual average PSH and relying on 3-day autonomy to bridge monsoon shortfalls is adequate and cost-effective. For critical roads (main arterial, hospital approach, Kumbh pilgrimage route), size for the monsoon worst-case PSH: this increases the panel size by 30 to 50% but ensures no light failures during the highest-risk weather period.
    Solar street light installation Kotamgaon Nashik Maharashtra peak sun hours Deccan plateau -- Xera Tech
    Xera Tech solar street light at Kotamgaon, Nashik, Maharashtra. The Deccan plateau receives 5.0 to 5.5 peak sun hours per day annually, one of India's most solar-favourable regions for outdoor lighting. View all Xera Tech solar projects.

    Step 4: Calculate Solar Panel Wattage (Wp)

    The solar panel must generate enough energy each day to power the LED for the full operating duration, recharge the battery back to the level it started at the previous evening, and overcome system losses (controller efficiency, wiring resistance, temperature derating). The formula is:

    Panel Wp = (LED wattage x operating hours per night) / (peak sun hours x system efficiency)

    System efficiency accounts for losses in the MPPT charge controller (typically 92 to 95% efficient), wiring resistance (1 to 2% loss), and panel temperature derating (panels lose about 0.3 to 0.5% output per °C above 25°C; in Indian summers with panel temperatures reaching 55 to 70°C, this is a 9 to 22% loss). Combined system efficiency for India planning purposes: use 0.80 as the conservative standard (matches MNRE guidance of minimum 80% total efficiency).

    Example: 30W LED, 12 hours, Maharashtra (4.5 PSH conservative)

    Panel Wp = (30 x 12) / (4.5 x 0.80) = 360 / 3.6 = 100Wp minimum. Use a 100Wp or 110Wp monocrystalline panel.

    Example: 12W LED, 12 hours, Rajasthan (5.0 PSH conservative)

    Panel Wp = (12 x 12) / (5.0 x 0.80) = 144 / 4.0 = 36Wp minimum. MNRE standard uses 75Wp for a 12W LED to provide extra charging margin. Xera Tech's 12W solar street light uses a 40Wp to 50Wp panel, appropriate for Maharashtra and above. For Rajasthan, a 40Wp panel is sufficient; for Kerala monsoon season sizing, step up to 60Wp to 75Wp.

    Solar Panel Wp Required by LED Wattage and Location (India 2026, 12 hours/night, system efficiency 0.80)
    LED Wattage Operating Hours Rajasthan (5.0 PSH) Maharashtra (4.5 PSH) Kerala Monsoon (3.0 PSH) MNRE Specified
    12W 12 hours 36Wp min 40Wp min 60Wp min 75Wp (includes safety margin)
    18W 12 hours 54Wp min 60Wp min 90Wp min Not specified separately
    24W 12 hours 72Wp min 80Wp min 120Wp min Not specified separately
    30W 12 hours 90Wp min 100Wp min 150Wp min Not specified separately
    40W 12 hours 120Wp min 133Wp min 200Wp min Not specified separately
    60W 12 hours 180Wp min 200Wp min 300Wp min Not specified separately

    Step 5: Calculate Battery Capacity (Ah)

    The battery stores energy during the day and releases it to the LED at night. Battery capacity is measured in Ampere-hours (Ah) at the system voltage. For LiFePO4 solar street light batteries, the standard system voltage is 12.8V (for systems up to 40W LED) or 25.6V (for larger systems). The sizing formula is:

    Battery Ah = (LED wattage x effective operating hours x autonomy days) / (system voltage x DoD x system efficiency)

    Where:

    • Effective operating hours: from Step 2 (use 8 to 9 hours if dimming is applied, 12 hours if no dimming)
    • Autonomy days: 3 days minimum (MNRE requirement); 5 days for critical roads in high-rainfall zones
    • System voltage: 12.8V for LiFePO4 (12V nominal system)
    • DoD (Depth of Discharge): 0.80 for LiFePO4 (can safely use 80% of rated capacity); 0.50 for lead-acid (only 50% usable, to protect cycle life)
    • System efficiency: 0.90 (controller and wiring losses on the discharge path)

    Example: 30W LED, 9 effective hours (with dimming), 3-day autonomy, 12.8V LiFePO4, DoD 0.80

    Battery Ah = (30 x 9 x 3) / (12.8 x 0.80 x 0.90) = 810 / 9.216 = 87.9 Ah. Use a 90Ah or 100Ah LiFePO4 battery.

    Example: 12W LED (MNRE profile: 8 effective hours), 3-day autonomy, 12.8V LiFePO4, DoD 0.80

    Battery Ah = (12 x 8 x 3) / (12.8 x 0.80 x 0.90) = 288 / 9.216 = 31.25 Ah. MNRE standard specifies 30Ah, which matches closely. Xera Tech's 12W solar system uses a 30Ah LiFePO4 as standard.

    LiFePO4 Battery Capacity (Ah) by LED Wattage: 3-Day and 5-Day Autonomy (12.8V, DoD 0.80, 9 effective hours with dimming)
    LED Wattage Effective Hours 3-Day Autonomy (Ah) 5-Day Autonomy (Ah) Standard Product Size
    12W 8 hrs 31 Ah 52 Ah 30Ah to 40Ah (MNRE: 30Ah)
    18W 9 hrs 53 Ah 88 Ah 60Ah
    24W 9 hrs 70 Ah 117 Ah 75Ah to 80Ah
    30W 9 hrs 88 Ah 146 Ah 100Ah
    40W 9 hrs 117 Ah 195 Ah 120Ah to 150Ah
    60W 9 hrs 175 Ah 293 Ah 200Ah (or 25.6V 100Ah)
    Lead-acid vs LiFePO4: why DoD changes everything. A 30Ah lead-acid battery has only 15Ah of usable capacity (50% DoD) without damaging cycle life. A 30Ah LiFePO4 delivers 24Ah usable (80% DoD). To deliver the same usable energy as a 30Ah LiFePO4, a lead-acid battery must be rated at 48Ah. This is why replacing lead-acid with LiFePO4 in solar street lights almost doubles autonomy at the same rated Ah, or allows a smaller Ah battery for the same autonomy. For all new solar street light installations in India in 2026, specify LiFePO4. See the guide on why LiFePO4 batteries are best for solar in India.

    Step 6: MNRE Minimum Specifications and Government Compliance

    The Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE) sets minimum technical specifications for solar street lights procured under government schemes (MNRE off-grid solar programme, PM Kusum scheme components, state NREDA schemes). BIS IS 16102 is the mandatory product standard for solar street light systems in India.

    MNRE Minimum Specifications for Solar Street Lights India 2026
    Parameter MNRE Minimum Requirement Xera Tech Standard
    LED luminaire standard BIS IS 16102 (LED module) BIS IS 16102 certified
    Battery chemistry Lithium Ferro Phosphate (LiFePO4) for new schemes LiFePO4 standard
    Battery capacity (standard village road 12W) 12.8V 30Ah LiFePO4 minimum 30Ah LiFePO4 for 12W systems
    Solar panel (standard village road 12W) 75Wp minimum 40Wp to 75Wp depending on location
    Battery autonomy Minimum 3 days (36 operating hours) at full load 3 to 5 days depending on system size
    System efficiency Minimum 80% total system efficiency 80 to 85% (MPPT controller)
    Charge controller MPPT type (Pulse Width Modulation minimum, MPPT preferred) MPPT standard
    IP rating IP65 minimum for luminaire IP65 on all Xera Tech solar models
    Pole height (village road) 5 metres above ground 4m to 9m available
    Dimming operation First 4 hours full, remaining hours at 50% minimum Programmable dimming profile
    Warranty 5 years on battery for government schemes; 2 years for commercial 2 years standard; extended on request

    For government-funded solar street light projects, the procuring body (gram panchayat, NHA, NREDA, Smart Cities SPV) will specify which MNRE scheme applies and which product parameters are mandatory. Always verify the specific scheme's gazette notification before finalising specifications. For a detailed guide to BIS IS 16102 certification and how it applies to solar product procurement, see the government approved LED and solar street lights guide for India 2026.

    Step 7: All-in-One vs Semi-Integrated: Sizing Implications

    The choice between all-in-one and semi-integrated solar street lights affects not just installation convenience but also the maximum system size and panel efficiency.

    All-in-one sizing limits

    In an all-in-one solar street light, the panel, battery, LED, controller, and (sometimes) the motion sensor are all integrated into one compact unit that mounts on the pole arm. The panel is fixed at the same angle as the LED head. This constrains panel size: all-in-one units typically accommodate a maximum of 80Wp to 120Wp panels in their physical housing, which limits the LED load to approximately 30W to 40W for 3-day autonomy in Maharashtra conditions. Above 40W LED load, the all-in-one housing becomes impractically large and heavy.

    Semi-integrated sizing advantages

    In a semi-integrated solar street light, the solar panel is mounted on a separate bracket at the top of the pole, independently of the LED luminaire head. This allows the panel to be angled due south at the optimal tilt for maximum annual energy harvest (latitude angle minus 5° to 15° in India, typically 10° to 25° from horizontal for most Indian states). The LED head can be aimed along the road independent of panel angle. This separation allows larger panels (up to 300Wp or more) and larger battery capacities, supporting LED loads from 50W to 120W with full 3 to 5 day autonomy. Semi-integrated is the correct choice for LED wattages above 40W or for any installation requiring monsoon-season reliability with 5-day autonomy.

    All-in-One vs Semi-Integrated: Sizing Comparison for Indian Solar Street Light Projects
    Factor All-in-One Semi-Integrated
    Maximum practical LED wattage Up to 40W (80W in large units) Up to 120W (Xera Tech range)
    Panel size flexibility Limited by housing (80Wp to 120Wp typical) Unlimited (panel on separate bracket)
    Panel angle optimisation Fixed with LED head angle Independently adjustable (south-facing at correct tilt)
    Installation time Under 30 minutes 1 to 2 hours (panel bracket mounting separately)
    Suitable for LED load 9W to 40W (gram panchayat, housing society, garden) 12W to 120W (all applications including municipal roads)
    Monsoon 5-day autonomy (40W LED) Difficult to achieve in compact housing Standard option with larger battery compartment

    For a detailed comparison of all-in-one vs semi-integrated with application decision map, see the all-in-one vs semi-integrated solar street light guide.

    Worked Examples: Rajasthan, Maharashtra and Kerala

    These three worked examples cover the full range of Indian solar conditions from the sunniest (Rajasthan) to the most challenging (Kerala monsoon season). All use a 30W LED, 12 hours operating time, 9 effective hours with dimming, 3-day autonomy, 12.8V LiFePO4, DoD 0.80, system efficiency 0.80 for panel, 0.90 for battery discharge.

    Example 1: Rajasthan (Jodhpur, 5.5 PSH annual average, 4.5 PSH monsoon)

    • LED wattage: 30W
    • Peak sun hours (annual, conservative): 5.5
    • Panel Wp = (30 x 12) / (5.5 x 0.80) = 360 / 4.4 = 82Wp minimum. Use 100Wp panel.
    • Battery Ah = (30 x 9 x 3) / (12.8 x 0.80 x 0.90) = 810 / 9.216 = 88 Ah. Use 100Ah LiFePO4.
    • Xera Tech product: Semi-integrated 30W, 100Wp panel, 100Ah LiFePO4
    • Even in monsoon season (4.5 PSH), the 100Wp panel generates enough to maintain 3-day autonomy

    Example 2: Maharashtra (Nashik/Pune, 4.5 PSH conservative)

    • LED wattage: 30W
    • Peak sun hours (conservative): 4.5
    • Panel Wp = (30 x 12) / (4.5 x 0.80) = 360 / 3.6 = 100Wp minimum. Use 100Wp or 120Wp panel.
    • Battery Ah = same as Rajasthan = 88 Ah. Use 100Ah LiFePO4.
    • Xera Tech product: Semi-integrated 30W, 100Wp panel, 100Ah LiFePO4
    • During peak monsoon (June-September, possibly 3.5 PSH), the 3-day autonomy battery bridges any shortfall of 1 to 2 days without charging

    Example 3: Kerala (Thiruvananthapuram, monsoon worst-case, 2.5 to 3.0 PSH)

    • LED wattage: 30W
    • Peak sun hours (monsoon worst-case): 3.0
    • Panel Wp = (30 x 12) / (3.0 x 0.80) = 360 / 2.4 = 150Wp minimum. Use 150Wp to 200Wp panel.
    • For 5-day autonomy (critical road): Battery Ah = (30 x 9 x 5) / (12.8 x 0.80 x 0.90) = 1,350 / 9.216 = 146 Ah. Use 150Ah LiFePO4.
    • Xera Tech product: Semi-integrated 30W, 160Wp panel, 150Ah LiFePO4 (custom sizing)
    • Note: For non-critical Kerala village roads, sizing for annual average (4.0 PSH) with 3-day autonomy is sufficient: 112Wp panel, 88Ah battery
    50W semi-integrated solar street light Sangali Maharashtra Deccan plateau sizing guide -- Xera Tech
    50W Xera Tech semi-integrated solar street light at Sangali, Maharashtra, on the Deccan plateau (4.5 to 5.0 PSH zone). The separate panel bracket allows independent south-facing orientation regardless of road alignment. View all Xera Tech solar projects.

    Xera Tech Solar Street Light Range with Sizing Data

    Xera Tech, LED and solar lighting manufacturer at Satpur MIDC, Nashik, Maharashtra, India, manufactures all-in-one and semi-integrated solar street lights from 9W to 120W. All carry BIS IS 16102 certification, LiFePO4 battery, MPPT charge controller, IP65 rating, and a 2-year manufacturer warranty. Panel wattage and battery capacity are specified per the sizing methodology above for Maharashtra conditions (4.5 PSH conservative) with 3-day autonomy.

    18W all-in-one solar street light LiFePO4 panel battery sizing gram panchayat housing society -- Xera Tech India

    All-in-One Solar Street Light (9W to 80W)

    BIS IS 16102 · LiFePO4 · MPPT · IP65 · Dusk-to-dawn · 2-year warranty

    Compact integrated unit for gram panchayat village roads, housing society paths, garden walkways, and rural school campuses. Panel, LED, LiFePO4 battery, MPPT controller, and PIR motion sensor all in one housing. Installs in under 30 minutes on any existing or new pole. Sized for Maharashtra conditions (4.5 PSH) with 3-day autonomy as standard.

    LED Wattage Range9W, 12W, 18W, 24W, 30W, 40W, 60W, 80W
    BatteryLiFePO4 (7 to 10 year life in India)
    Charge ControllerMPPT (80% minimum efficiency)
    Autonomy3 days minimum at rated load
    IP RatingIP65
    CertificationsBIS IS 16102 · ISO 9001:2015 · NSIC · ZED · GeM
    Warranty2 years
    Browse Solar Street Lights Get Sizing Consultation
    Semi-integrated solar street light separate panel 30W to 120W municipal road sizing -- Xera Tech India

    Semi-Integrated Solar Street Light (12W to 120W)

    BIS IS 16102 · LiFePO4 · MPPT · IP65 · 3 to 5 day autonomy · 2-year warranty

    Separate panel and LED luminaire for maximum sizing flexibility. Panel is mounted independently and can be angled due south at correct tilt regardless of road direction, improving annual energy yield by 15 to 30% vs fixed all-in-one panels. Standard battery sizing for Maharashtra (4.5 PSH) delivers 3-day autonomy. Custom panel and battery sizing available for Kerala monsoon, Rajasthan high-sun, and critical-road 5-day autonomy requirements.

    LED Wattage Range12W, 18W, 24W, 30W, 40W, 60W, 80W, 100W, 120W
    BatteryLiFePO4 (7 to 10 year life)
    Autonomy (standard)3 days (custom 5-day available)
    PanelIndependently adjustable, south-facing
    IP RatingIP65
    CertificationsBIS IS 16102 · ISO 9001:2015 · NSIC · ZED · GeM
    Warranty2 years
    Browse Solar Street Lights Get Custom Sizing Quote
    BIS IS 16102 Certified -- Xera Tech ISO 9001:2015 -- Xera Tech NABL Accredited Testing -- Xera Tech NSIC Certified -- Xera Tech ZED Certified -- Xera Tech

    Frequently Asked Questions

    Solar panel wattage is calculated using the formula: Panel Wp = (LED wattage x operating hours per night) / (peak sun hours for your location x system efficiency). System efficiency for India planning: use 0.80 (accounts for MPPT controller losses, wiring resistance, and panel temperature derating). For a 30W LED running 12 hours per night in Maharashtra (4.5 peak sun hours conservative): Panel Wp = (30 x 12) / (4.5 x 0.80) = 360 / 3.6 = 100Wp minimum. Round up to the nearest standard panel size (100Wp or 120Wp). For Rajasthan (5.5 PSH), the same LED needs only 82Wp minimum. For Kerala monsoon worst-case (3.0 PSH), the same LED needs 150Wp minimum. Always size for the conservative (lower) peak sun hours figure for your location's worst season, not the annual average.

    Battery capacity is calculated using: Battery Ah = (LED wattage x effective operating hours x autonomy days) / (system voltage x DoD x system efficiency). For LiFePO4 at 12.8V system voltage: DoD = 0.80, system efficiency = 0.90. For a 30W LED, 9 effective hours (with dimming), 3-day autonomy: Battery Ah = (30 x 9 x 3) / (12.8 x 0.80 x 0.90) = 810 / 9.216 = 88 Ah. Use a 90Ah or 100Ah LiFePO4 battery. For the MNRE-specified 12W LED system with 8 effective hours and 3-day autonomy: Battery Ah = (12 x 8 x 3) / (12.8 x 0.80 x 0.90) = 31 Ah. MNRE standard specifies 30Ah, which matches.

    MNRE's (Ministry of New and Renewable Energy) standard specification for solar street lights under the off-grid solar programme requires: a BIS IS 16102 certified LED luminaire, LiFePO4 battery (12.8V 30Ah minimum for 12W LED village road systems), a minimum 75Wp monocrystalline or polycrystalline solar panel, MPPT charge controller, 5-metre pole above ground, dusk-to-dawn operation with first 4 hours at full brightness (minimum 24 lux) and remaining hours at 50% brightness (minimum 12 lux), minimum 3 days (36 operating hours) battery autonomy at full load, and minimum 80% total system efficiency. State NREDA schemes may have additional requirements; the Haryana NREDA 2026 rate contract specifies these exact parameters. BIS IS 16102 certification is mandatory for all government procurement.

    Peak Sun Hours (PSH) is the number of hours per day at which solar irradiance averages 1,000 W/m² (Standard Test Conditions). India's PSH ranges from 3.5 in monsoon-affected coastal and northeast zones to 6.5 in Rajasthan, making it one of the world's best countries for solar energy. For solar street light sizing: Rajasthan and Gujarat average 5.5 to 6.5 PSH annually, 4.0 to 5.0 in monsoon; Maharashtra, Karnataka, Telangana, and AP average 5.0 to 5.5 PSH annually, 3.5 to 4.5 in monsoon; UP, Bihar, and north India average 4.5 to 5.0 PSH; Kerala, coastal Karnataka, and northeast India average 3.5 to 4.5 PSH, dropping to 2.0 to 3.0 during peak monsoon. A higher PSH means a smaller panel is needed for the same LED load: moving from Maharashtra (4.5 PSH) to Rajasthan (5.5 PSH) reduces the required panel size by about 18% for the same LED load and autonomy.

    Depth of Discharge (DoD) is the percentage of a battery's rated capacity that is safely usable without accelerating degradation. For LiFePO4 batteries, the safe DoD is 80%: a 30Ah LiFePO4 battery delivers 24Ah of usable energy before recharge is needed. For lead-acid batteries, safe DoD is only 50%: the same 30Ah lead-acid delivers only 15Ah usable. This means a 30Ah LiFePO4 delivers 60% more usable energy than a 30Ah lead-acid battery. In solar street light sizing, using the correct DoD for each chemistry is critical: sizing a LiFePO4 battery using a 50% DoD (as for lead-acid) results in a battery that is twice as large as needed, wasting money. Using an 80% DoD for lead-acid results in rapid battery failure. Always use DoD 0.80 for LiFePO4 and DoD 0.50 for lead-acid in sizing calculations.

    MNRE specifies a minimum of 3 days (36 operating hours) of battery autonomy for solar street lights in India. For most inland applications (Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Karnataka, UP, Bihar), 3-day autonomy is adequate because continuous cloudy periods beyond 3 days are rare outside of extreme weather events. For high-rainfall zones during monsoon season (Kerala, coastal Karnataka, Goa, northeastern states, and parts of Maharashtra's Konkan coast), 5-day autonomy is recommended for critical roads. For non-critical village and colony roads in these zones, 3-day autonomy with an appropriately sized panel (for monsoon worst-case PSH) is sufficient. For Kumbh 2027 pilgrimage route solar lights (critical safety application during monsoon), specify 5-day autonomy with monsoon-season PSH sizing.

    Yes. Xera Tech's technical team provides free solar street light sizing calculations for any project in India. Share the LED wattage required (or road width and IS 1944 category for a complete calculation from scratch), project location (state and district), operating hours, required autonomy days, and whether the project is government-funded (MNRE compliance required). The team will calculate the correct panel Wp, battery Ah, and recommend the appropriate all-in-one or semi-integrated product from the Xera Tech range. For bulk projects (above 50 units), a complete system specification sheet with panel, battery, controller, and pole sizing is provided. Contact via WhatsApp at +91 9607908430, email connect@xeratech.in, or call +91 9607908432.

    MPPT (Maximum Power Point Tracking) and PWM (Pulse Width Modulation) are the two types of solar charge controllers used in solar street lights. A PWM controller connects the panel directly to the battery and regulates charging by switching on and off rapidly. It is simple and inexpensive but wastes 20 to 30% of potential panel output when the battery voltage is low relative to panel voltage. An MPPT controller continuously tracks the panel's maximum power point (the voltage and current combination delivering peak power) and converts excess voltage to current, delivering 15 to 30% more energy to the battery from the same panel under the same conditions. MNRE preferred specification is MPPT. For Indian solar street lights, always specify MPPT: the efficiency gain pays back the cost premium within 12 to 18 months through battery charge advantage, particularly during monsoon season when every available watt of solar energy matters.

    Need a Free Solar Street Light Sizing Calculation for Your Project?

    Xera Tech's technical team calculates panel Wp, battery Ah, and autonomy days for any solar street light project in India, from 9W gram panchayat systems to 120W semi-integrated municipal installations. BIS IS 16102 certified, MNRE-compliant, pan-India supply from Nashik.

    WhatsApp for Free Sizing Browse Solar Street Lights Submit Project Details

    Looking for the right LED solution?

    Xeratech manufactures BIS-certified LED flood lights, solar street lights, highbay lights and more — shipped across India.

    About Xera Tech

    Xera Tech is a BIS-certified LED lighting manufacturer established in 2017, headquartered in Nashik, Maharashtra , India. Product range: LED Street lights, Decorative lights, solar street lights (all-in-one & semi-integrated), LED Flood lights, decorative poles, and high mast lights — all manufactured at Satpur MIDC and compliant with IP65/IP67 and photometric standards.

    SA
    Sagar Faragade

    Lighting specialist at Xeratech. Writing about LED efficiency, solar lighting systems, and sustainable outdoor illumination.

    Link copied!